The Masters

The Masters Tournament — aka the U.S. Masters or simply the Masters — is one of the four most prestigious annual professional golf competitions. The Masters takes place the first week of April and is always held at Augusta National Golf Club in Georgia. Players must be invited to participate, so it usually has a smaller field than other majors. Around 1931, amateur golf champion Bobby Jones and investment banker Clifford Roberts optioned a 365-acre nursery called Fruitland. The pair took a chance and transformed the farmland into a golfing paradise with the help of renowned course designer Alister Mackenzie. Augusta National opened in 1932 with limited play, and two years later, Roberts and Jones founded the Masters. For the first five years, the tournament was known as the "August National Invitational," but it changed to "The Masters Tournament" in 1939. Since 1949, tournament winners have been awarded a coveted green sports jacket. However, the recipient can only keep it for a year. Afterward, it must be stored in a special closet at Augusta National and only worn at the club. Since 1963, each Masters kicks off with an honorary opening tee shot usually taken by a past champion or notable golfer. The Masters was started by amateur champion Bobby Jones and investment banker Clifford Roberts. After his grand slam in 1930, Jones acquired the former plant nursery and co-designed Augusta National with course architect Alister MacKenzie. First played 88 years ago in 1934, the tournament is an official money event on the PGA Tour, the European Tour, and the Japan Golf Tour. The field of players is smaller than those of the other major championships because it is an invitational event, held by the Augusta National Golf Club.

Request Quote

Map Of Augusta

Sign-up for exclusive buddies trip deals! Join our over 10,000 subscribers and be the first to know about special offers, new partnerships, giveaways and more